This is how the four hills tournament works

This is how the Four Hills Tournament works

The traditional event on the four ski jumps in germany and austria will take place this winter from 30. December 2017 to 6. January 2018 already for the 66. Mal.


Unlike in the world cup, there are 25 ks in the first round of the tour competitions.O.-duels. The 25 winners and the five best losers (lucky losers) will enter the final of the best 30 jumpers. To determine the pairings for the competitions, the result of the qualification is used. The best of the qualification will compete against the 50th. An, the second meets the 49. The competition traditionally begins with the duel of the 26. Against the 25.

The overall winner is the jumper who collects the most points in all four competitions. The winners of the day are determined in two rounds, in which the points are added up. 50 jumpers take part in each competition, in the second round the best 30 are allowed to jump again.


Since this winter, the ten best jumpers in the world cup must also compete in the qualification and are no longer automatically qualified for the competition. In the past, the stars had skipped the qualification more often because of the strain and for tactical reasons. Sven hannawald, who won all four competitions in 2001/2002, was happy to forego the qualification and was successful with the tactic.

Due to the abolition of the privilege for the elite, there were also fewer top duels in the K.O.-giving mode than in previous years. Top jumpers who had missed out in previous years were always placed in position 50 and met the qualifying winner. Whoever does not compete this time or does not finish in the top 50 is not qualified for the competition. This also applies to the german richard freitag, who starts the tour with the yellow jersey.


It starts on the schattenbergschanze in oberstdorf. The course was built in 2003 and offers 27.000 spectators. (hill record: sigurd pettersen/norway 143.5 meters)

The new year’s jumping competition follows on the olympic hill in garmisch-partenkirchen, which was completely rebuilt in 2007. 25.000 fans can be seated there. (hill record: simon ammann/switzerland 143.5 meters)

Next station is the bergisel in innsbruck. In 2001, the bakken with a capacity of 26.000 spectators newly built. Special feature: during the flight into the valley, the jumpers look directly onto the cemetery. (hill record: michael haybock/austria 138 meters)

The final will take place on the paul-auberleitner hill in bischofshofen. In 2003, the facility in which 26.000 fans find place, newly built. (hill record: andreas wellinger/germany 144.5 meters)


The best candidates for victory this winter are indeed the germans around yellow-carrier richard freitag and the world cup runner-up wellinger. Four victories in the winter so far without olympic champion severin freund, who will miss the whole season due to a cruciate ligament rupture. Behind freitag and wellinger, markus eisenbichler is also considered a contender for top spots.

The german team has a lot of challengers: last year’s winner of the tour is olympic champion kamil stoch. The pole recently gained momentum in engelberg and copes well with the four hills. Overall world cup winner stefan kraft from austria is also a candidate for victory. The norwegian youngster daniel andre tande as well as the slovenian veteran peter prevc could also jump in the top of the ranking.


Three nations were the overall winners 16 times each: germany (including the GDR), finland and austria. Followed by norway with ten.

Record winner is janne ahonen. He triumphed five times between 1999 and 2008. The finn was also involved in a novelty in the history of the tour: in 2005/06, he shared the victory with jakub janda from the czech republic, who was level on points after four competitions.

Most successful german is jens weibflog with four victories. Another DSV athlete holds a very special record: in 2001/02, sven hannawald was the first and so far only jumper to win all four tour competitions. Only the norwegian bjorn wirkola (1967-1969) has managed three overall victories in a row.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.